North Carolina Concealed Carry Laws
North Carolina does require a permit to purchase handguns within the state. The permit typically comes from your local sheriff’s office. While you do not need to register your handguns with the sheriff, the sheriff does have the right to retain and make available to law enforcement agencies a list of permitees. Although the state does not require a permit to carry rifles or shotgun, it is mandatory to conceal carry a handgun. Even with a concealed carry license, additional restrictions as to where and when one can carry within the state exists.
In order for a concealed carry applicant to be approved, he/she must:
- Be a citizen of the United States or have been lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States;
- Have been a resident of the State of North Carolina for not less than thirty (30) days immediately preceding the filing of the application;
- Be at least 21 years old;
- Not suffer from any physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun; and
- Have successfully completed an approved firearms training course (unless specifically exempted from the course by State law).
If you are charged with possession of a concealed firearm and do not have a valid permit, you may be facing, at a minimum, a Class 2 misdemeanor which can carry a $1,000 fine, and up to 60 days in jail. More than one offense can result in a Class H felony resulting up to over 3 years in jail.
There are also many prohibited carry locations where you may be unable to carry a weapon even with a valid permit. Such examples are federal properties, picket lines, private health care facilities, law enforcement or correctional facilities, and more. You may view the entire list of prohibited carry areas and guidelines at the NC Department of Justice website.
North Carolina handgun and conceal carry laws are complex and difficult to navigate alone. If you find yourself facing criminal charges or in violation of the law, contact the attorneys at Mulligan Attorneys, immediately.