Three Strikes and You’re Out: DWI Laws in North Carolina
As Labor Day weekend approaches, we begin to bid summer a fond farewell. Your weekends fill up with last minute barbeques, beach days, and backyard bashes as you unwind and catch up with friends. Maybe you have a few drinks during the festivities, but you swear you feel fine—until you see those flashing blue lights in your rearview mirror.
In moments like these, our first instinct is to panic. In reality, it’s much better to keep your cool and have a plan. Everyone makes mistakes, and the team at Mulligan Epstein Attorneys is here to help you fix them. Our lawyers are experienced, honest, and professional, and we can help minimize the damage a DWI can cause—especially in North Carolina, where the consequences are especially harsh.
If you’re a first time offender, you could face jail time and community service, you could pay hundreds in court costs and lose your license for one year. This is just the beginning, though. You’ll also have to contend with your insurance, the court system, the DMV, and a mountain of paperwork. It can get pretty ugly.
Do you have fun weekend plans? Better cancel them— you could face up to 1 year in prison. You could lose your license for up to four years, depending on how recently your first offense was. But wait, there’s more—your car will now require an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), which is basically a contraption you’ll have to breath into every time you start the engine. If the IID finds that you’re above the legal limit, you’re not going anywhere.
When it comes to DWIs, forget charm—the third time’s a nightmare. You could serve up to 2 years in prison, you’ll pay a hefty fine, you might just lose your license forever and, on the off chance you are allowed to drive again, your vehicle will require an IID for seven full years. These are serious consequences that will affect your friends, your family, your job, and your ability to move on from this error.
When do you need an attorney?
Because a DWI can result in substantial consequences, it’s important to have a qualified expert in your corner. DWI attorneys and lawyers can help in several key ways. They can appear in court on your behalf or accompany you to court, file your paperwork, and help you obtain the best outcome for your specific case. In addition to challenging the State’s evidence at trial, an attorney can help you navigate the numerous DMV requirements that accompany a DWI charge and even recover a vehicle that has been seized.
Whether this is your first offense or your fifth, our attorneys will be with you every step of the way to ensure your rights were not violated at the time of your arrest. We will apply our experience and training towards finding any possible defense to your case.
Schedule a consultation with Mulligan Epstein Attorneys today, and enjoy the rest of your summer responsibly.