North Carolina Has New Laws. Can You Name Them?
This past October, North Carolina’s General Assembly met and passed nearly fifty new laws. After Governor Pat McCrory signed them, many of these laws took effect immediately, some rolled out over the past few weeks, and others will take effect in the New Year. At Mulligan Epstein Attorneys, we believe education is vital to understanding the law and protecting your rights. To help keep you aware of these changes, we rounded up some of the laws that are most relevant to our clients.
The “Move Over” Law Expands
When a police car, ambulance, or fire truck approaches with lights flashing and sirens singing, drivers are supposed to change lanes or slow down to allow these emergency vehicles safe passage. Now, this “move over” law has been expanded to include garbage and recycling trucks with flashing lights.
Protecting Your Privacy
Wilmington, NC has many automatic license plate readers around town. These can record your license plate in the event that you run a red light, triggering a ticket. Now, a new law aims to regulate these readers by limiting how long law enforcement can keep the plates on file. After 90 days, the records of which cars pass by a certain location will be deleted, as long as the records aren’t being used for a criminal or missing persons investigation.
The Privilege to Pray
If you’ve had your license revoked due to a DWI charge or other traffic violation, you can get limited driving privileges for things like work, college, or emergency medical care. Now, thanks to a new law, you can also drive for religious worship, such as church.
18 and Older in Tanning Beds
Certain privileges—such as voting, buying lottery tickets, and joining the military—are limited to people who are at least 18 years old. A new law adds tanning beds to that list, thanks to increased risks for skin cancer. Exceptions will be made for youngsters with who have parental permission or a note from their doctor.
Regulating Electronic Cigarettes
Electronic cigarettes are touted as a healthy alternative to smoking, but more evidence is needed to support these claims. In the meantime, North Carolina has passed tighter restrictions on e-cigarettes—literally. The state will now require child-resistant packaging for the nicotine liquid used in the rapidly growing electronic cigarette industry, with violations resulting in the most severe type of misdemeanor.
Need Help Navigating These New Laws?
If you need help navigating these new laws, or have questions about how they might affect you, don’t worry—the attorneys at Mulligan Epstein are here to help. Whether you need legal help or simply want to schedule a consultation, please contact our firm. Together, we’ll make sure that your rights are protected no matter what.